STC Houston - Dateline Houston - March/April 2006

Vol 45, Issue 4

March/April 2006

STC Houston - Dateline Houston - March/April 2006

Issue Home Page

Printer-friendly version

STC Houston - Dateline Houston - January/February 2006

STC Houston 2005-2006 Competitions Close

Annual Awards Banquet Held on February 3

by Alyssa Fox, Lead Information Developer, NetIQ Corporation

The STC Houston 2005-2006 Competitions wrapped up at the annual awards banquet held February 3 at the Houston Club. More than 90 people attended the banquet, including award winners, family, and friends.

STC Houston traded entries with Southern California region chapters, who suggested a new process for evaluation this year. Instead of exchanging written evaluation forms for entries, we exchanged online evaluation forms.

The result was improved readability of judges’ comments and, for the most part, quicker return of evaluation forms.

We had a great response to our call for entries this year in the Technical Art, Technical Publications, and Online Communication competitions.

This year we received 110 entries, submitted by individuals and companies in Houston and Austin. This number was a significant increase from last year’s submissions. It looks like we’re doing a good job of getting the word out about STC!

Of the 110 submissions, 75 won awards! Ten entries won an award of Distinguished and were submitted to the STC international competitions. Winners in those competitions will be announced at the STC Annual Conference in Las Vegas this May.

The names of individual STC Houston winners are shown here, with each person listed only once in each competition.

Technical Art

Winners in this competition include Roy Allice, Deborah Clifton, David A. Cobb, Deborah Crockett, Ana Ferragut, Lee French, Karen Hensley, Shauna Herman, Carol Howland, Diana Jaques, Joe Jaques, Johann Kohl, Laura Lerner, Ana McCormick, Christina Prigmore, Lori Schaub, and Caleb Schmidt.

Technical Publications

Winners in this competition include Charles Bay, Heather Brixey, Sherry Buchanan, Susan Caesar, Mona Cheatham, Rick Chew, Robin Clark, Deborah Clifton, Deborah Crockett, Ira Dember, Jennifer DeMocko, Jackie Dillemuth, Denise Donovan, Sidney K. Edelman, Ana Ferragut, Melanie G. Flanders, Alyssa Fox, John Gilmore, Lisa Harlan, Karen Hensley, Carol Howland, William Hunter, Wiley Johnson, Linda King, Kimberly Koch, Deborah Kuznitz, Terry Lambert, Laura Lerner, Susan Luedke, Joseph Mathew, Ana McCormick, Bryce Miller, Elizabeth Navarro, Bob Nicholson, Ellen H. O'Brien, Cynthia Pao, Jim Parish, Emily Perlman, Crystal Rawls, Michele Richardson, Adina Sbragia, Caleb Schmidt, Hank Schroeder, Jean Schuck, Jake Schulzinger, George Slaughter, Paul Stevenson, Scott Sweeney, Meredith Tabor, Michael A. Torok, John Turner, Kelly Wheeler, and Krystal Williams.

Online Communications

Winners in this competition include Deborah Clifton, Julia Creel, Jessie de Jong, Ana Ferragut, Cindy Goodman, Marla Lineberry, Nick McGowen, Jean Neumann, Ellen O'Brien, Jim Parish, Emily Perlman, Debra Phillips, Rick Sanchez, Lori Schaub, Bill Shields, Yvonne Wade Sanchez, and Krystal Williams.

Copyright © 2006 Houston Chapter, Society for Technical Communication
P.O. Box 42051, Houston, TX 77242-2051 | 713-706-3434